Fever by Lauren DeStefano (Book Review #119)

I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 14/05/17

My 12th book this year)

Rhine has escaped her “husband” who has been holding her captive. All females will only live to the age of 20 and males to the age of 25, unless a cure can be found. Rhine needs to find her twin brother who has no idea what has happened to her and whether or not she is still alive. 

One of the house attendants have escaped with her. Now Gabriel and Rhine have escaped to freedom only to be caught in a whole different society where they once again become prisoners. 

Her previous Housemaster Vaughn is never going to let her truly be free. He is on the hunt for her and he wont give up until he finds her and brings her back to the house once again.

***SPOILER ALERT***

I really enjoyed most of this 2nd book of the Chemical Garden Series. Although some parts became annoying when incidentally the characters looking like long lost children of their captors, hence saving them from being instantly killed or buying them time to make an escape plan. 

I didn’t like the setting of this book but the story itself worked for me. I found myself drawn in and really wanted to find out what happens next. 

It became much more interesting once the group end up at the Lottner residence. The ending was very unexpected but if you can ignore the way she is found, you will still be held in suspense as to what becomes of Rhine.

I would recommend this series if you enjoy dystopian socities and are open minded to the world drastically changing. I rarely consecutively read nooks in a series but after book 1 & 2, I think this may be a first for me and I might just pick up book 3 next.

Written by Ling Lee (15/05/17)

Categories: Book Review | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

