The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey (Book Review #115)

I rate this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 19/04/17

My 8th book this year)

Melanie is Dr Caldwells’ “little genius”. She lives in a cell and everyday she has lessons in the classroom. When she transfers between rooms, a gun is pointed at her head whilst another guard straps her into a wheelchair. Arms, legs, body and even her neck, making movement absolutely minimal. She jokes she wont bite, but nobody finds her funny.

She is test subject number one. Melanie’s favourite teacher is Miss Justineu. Miss Justineu’s favoured student happens to be Melanie, even though she knows better than to get attached to any of the test subjects. One day Melanie tells Miss Justineu what she wants to do when she gets older and grows up. Her teacher is very sad and Melanie just wants to see her happy smile for always.

***SPOILER ALERT***

I accidentally picked up this book thinking it was something totally different to what it turned out to be. My first Zombie book and I was actually quite intrigued and compelled by the story. However, I absolutely hated the unexpected ending which left my rating at 3.5 stars.

I enjoyed how Melanie was oppressed yet she managed to break free and eplore her own thoughts. I enjoyed sharing her experience of the world.

I wouldn’t recommend this book to apocolypse and zombie lovers as I’m pretty sure this was an extremely tame version of the possibilities for this genre. For a younger audience and maybe first time zombie experience readers.

Written by Ling Lee (19/04/17).

Categories: Book Review | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

