Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (Book Review #107)

I rate this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 10/12/16
My 22nd book this year.)

Amy, the stunningly beautiful, intelligent, funny, perfect New Yorker that every girl wants to be. Nick, the handsome all round perfect man. They were made for each other. When their lives entwine, they both realise they have found their lifelong forever.

On the day of their 5th anniversary life is turned upside down for Nick. Amy goes missing. The evidence doesn’t make sense, the clues are cryptic and now the story really begins. Their perfect lives slowly unravel dishonesty, deceit, paranoia, and their love for one another has become unstable.

***SPOILER ALERT***
Wow. This book is well and truly twisted. I kept wanting to find out what happens next but at the same time I felt annoyed with the over the top twists and turns.

I took Nick’s side right from the start even though I had my doubts like the author intended.

I didn’t really engage with any of the characters yet I was still excited to find out what was coming next.

I absolutely hated the ending but it was the most unexpected end to a story like this.

A difficult one to express my views on without ruining the whole story. I would recommend this book only if you have the patience to read the whole thing. If you are a romantic, I guess the book becomes much more appealing.

Nothing amazing. If you can get over the absolutely crazy twists and not think about it too much, this book is worth considering.

Written by Ling Lee.

Categories: Book Review | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

