Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver (Book Review #104)

I rate this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.

(Finished reading 19/10/16
My 19th book this year.)

Most of society believe that love is a disease and everyone must be given a cure to protect the people. Sometimes before the cure can be administered, people catch the disease.

Lena has fallen for Alex, together they were supposed to escape into the wilds. But Alex sacrificed himself and told Lena to run and be free without him. She must learn to live with those who have been infected with “Deliria”. In the wilds people learn to survive by scavenging, by relying on those on the inside to sneak out food, by hunting. Raven helps Lena gain strength and understand what kind of harsh reality life now brings. Raven and her friends are part of the revolution to bring down society and their control over people’s lives and emotions. They try to free society and teach people that love isn’t something to be afraid of.

***SPOILER ALERT***
I was absolutely drawn into this book (2nd book of the Delirium Series). With the different turns and the way people handle different situations.

I didn’t like Raven, I didn’t like Julian. But the book was still great even though I couldn’t side with any of the characters. It would not be nice to be part of this world.

I really enjoy dystopian societies as I love to enter worlds that are different to the way we live today. I love how authors explore these ideas and Lauren Oliver absolutely got this right. Although parts of the book were over the top, it was still a great read. I would definitely recommend this book.

PS. The very last chapter just finished the book. I rarely feel complete when I finish a book but this ending was perfect.

Written by Ling Lee (19/10/16)

Categories: Book Review | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

