Book Review #81: Altered by Jennifer Rush

I rate this book 3 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 29/12/14
My 40th book this year.)

Anna’s father is a scientist. He has 4 teenagers kept as test subjects. Anna has recently been trusted enough to interact with them and to help take test results. Over time she develops some sort of friendship with them.

One day, the leader of the project is ready to take the boys out of the lab and to utilise them as planned. The boys have been ready, somehow they put up a fight and escape the lab with Anna in tow.

All of the boys have had their memories wiped, but without treatment, they get flashbacks of possible memories or altered thoughts. Anna must decide whether she trusts them enough to help them get their lives back or to give herself up to the company.

My Thoughts: ***SPOILER ALERT***
The book was pretty average. It felt like the author tried to hide too many twists and turns in the one book. Although some of the twists were unexpected I guess in a way it helped push the book along.

I enjoyed the storyline overall. However, I can’t seem to believe in Anna. She acted abnormally in certain situations and I found it quite disturbing that she didn’t seem to think clearly even when her subconscious was unsure.

The boys were made to be weapons. But we don’t find out enough about the program as to why they have been chosen.

I can’t say I would recommend the book to other readers but I would still give book 2 a try, just to satisfy my curiosity.

Written by Ling Lee (29/12/14).

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

