Book Review #77: Hush, hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

I rate this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 21/09/14
My 36th book this year.)

Nora the good girl student. Patch the new guy. A new seating arrangement in their Biology class leaves them paired for the term. Nora is indecisive, erratic, easily confused but has a good heart and a best friend, Vee, who loves to party and loves to flirt just as much.

Patch is mysterious, handsome, surrounded by darkness and has many secrets regarding his past. Nora finds herself compelled to him, yet she fights her mind and tries to stay away. Something keeps drawing them together yet Nora wants to stay away from this bad boy. One eventful day Nora needs help and Patch has suddenly become so much more to her than just a lab partner.

My Thoughts: ***SPOILER ALERT***

I’m not entirely sure how I feel about this book. The ending was too abrupt when Patch’s ultimate secret is revealed.

Patch is a consistent character and I guess in my case it is true that I am
drawn to bad boys. He is confident, knows what he wants, he’s definitely not afraid to take what he wants any way he can.

I think Jules ruined the book for me. It felt completely out of place with everything that happens and it was most definitely an unnecessary part other than maybe using it as a book filler for this (shorter than average) novel.

Vee is a typical teenager who loves to flirt and party. She is the opposite of Nora but many friendships work because of balance between the two extremes.

The rest of the story was mostly good. I love Patch’s secret. It possibly took too long for us to know for sure who/what he is but I love the grotesque scars on his back and the way he dealt with the sacrifice (what he was looking for throughout the book).

I don’t understand why this book has such a great rating. Only the scenes including both Patch and Nora were worth reading. The rest of the book felt eerie and unpleasant. The flashbacks/freaky moments that Nora has were odd and unsettling. I hated the reasoning behind it but I guess it was a clever idea.

I think the book would have been better if Patch’s secret were revealed at least at midway point. Then if Jules were removed and something else major were to replace it. This book felt choppy and didn’t quite flow.

I wouldn’t recommend this book, but I also wouldn’t say it’s not worth reading. Hopefully book 2 will be better. I won’t be picking up the 2nd of the series in a rush, but I will probably get round to it sometime in the future.

Written by Ling Lee (21/09/14).

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

