Book Review #74: Vampire Kisses by Ellen Schreiber

I rate this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 11/09/14
My 33rd book this year.)

Raven the Goth girl loves everything black and everything to do with vampires. Ever since she was young she has always wanted to be a vampire. When a mysterious family move into the creepy mansion, Raven gets her chance to prove vampires exist or at least uncover the truth.

Alexander, the home schooled teen is just as mysterious as the rest of his family. He doesn’t like the outdoors, he loves to be at the cemetery, he dresses odd and at least one of their family members are allergic to garlic!

Trevor the most popular boy in school loves to pick on Raven for being different. But Raven is full of spirit and very much enjoys fighting back. With all the taunting, the urge to outdo one another, to embarrass each other, Raven has a very strange relationship with Trevor. Raven’s heart belongs with the dark side, with the blackness, the bats and the possibly, maybe Vampire Teen.

My Thoughts: ***SPOILER ALERT***
This book is for young teens who want to believe in vampires. I’ve always wanted to believe so I know how Raven feels, but I feel like it’s too stereotypical for her to be a Goth Girl.

The whole story flicks between is he a vampire? Is he not? It got a bit exhausting. But I did enjoy their strange dates and the time they spent together as 2 people who are different from every one else, but have found their own type of people. I like the feeling of acceptance.

I can’t say I felt any real excitement, except when Raven would sneak into the mansion. But I did smile at a few scenes so I guess this book was only just better than an average 3 star for me.

I was truly disappointed the book was so simple and nothing much happens. I wouldn’t really recommend it but I am willing to give book 2 a chance at some point.

Written by Ling Lee (11/09/14).

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

