Book Review #70: When We Collide by A. L. Jackson

I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 30/08/14
My 29th book this year.)

William is forced to return home when his Aunt Lara is severely ill. But the problem is he hasn’t been home for 6years. He’s been avoiding his family, ignoring his past and trying to just survive through his messy marriage. With a secret full of darkness and pain William is torn between making the right decision and facing his past.

Maggie, such a timid girl with a disturbingly abusive father. When she meets Troy, she believes she has a chance to escape this life.

Life can never be so easy. When Maggie and William meet for the first time, there’s a distinctive pull and neither of them can ignore the other’s existence. Maggie’s life has run a vicious cycle and William wants to save her.

My Thoughts: ***SPOILER ALERT***

I loved this book. From beginning to close to the end. I felt the pain, the darkness, the sadness, the need. I felt the light in between every twist in the story.

I kept wanting Maggie to escape, but even so close to the end, I had no idea how the story would end. Reading through til 1.30am 2 nights in a row, I absolutely needed to find out what happened at the end.

This book is amazingly well written. Tears stung my eyes through the frustration whilst I willed Maggie to be strong.

I can’t say that I particularly liked any of the characters as I thankfully cannot relate to this type of life. But I would have hoped and thought more people would call out for help in these circumstances.

I loved the snatched moments and the trouble filled lives that each character lived. I loved how the book reminds me the importance of family, safety and love. I cherish my children, I felt my heart ache throughout this book, but I was thankful this type of life wasn’t one that I’m familiar with.

I’d highly recommend this book to everyone to read, both for awareness and for the intense and well written details at every turn.

I’d very much like to read more of this author’s work.

Written by Ling Lee (30/08/14).

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

