Book Review #67: The Selection by Kiera Cass

I rate this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 10/08/14
My 26th book this year.)

Prince Maxon must choose a woman within Ilea to become his wife. 35 girls in his country from different classes and backgrounds become the “Selected”. Within these girls, Maxon must decide which will become the “One”.

Girls ranging from ultra poor to almost royal statuses, apply for a space in the “Selected”.

America has already found her true love, but she is poor and he is poorer. His pride stands in the way of asking for her hand in marriage. Between them, they decide the “Selection” must be a great opportunity for her family to have a better chance in life.

America applies but she has little faith in being chosen. The inevitable happens and she is soon whisked away onto royal grounds.

Prince Maxon waits for all the ladies to appear before him at the same time. Each girl gets a chance, but elimination begins from day one until he can decide on only one girl.

My Thoughts:
Prince Maxon is far from what I would expect. He he is kind hearted, a very soft, almost feminine character. Throughout the story, I never felt like any part of it could be real. That’s where the story lost rating for me. However I am a romantic, I love how Prince Maxon and America’s relationship change. I love how just like in real life, people’s hearts can be torn and uncertainty fills them. I love how America is confused between two men.
I adore the dresses. But I hate the petty girls like Celeste. I hate two faced girls, yet if this were to be a real life decision, I’m sure the outcome could have been a lot worse.
There’s so many flaws but also so much goodness in this book, therefore my overall rating is average. I’m very much looking forward to book 2. I want to know what happens to the remaining girls and how the men will chase America. I want to know if she makes the choice and if things turn out the way fairy tales should.

Written by Ling Lee (10/08/14).

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

