Book Review #62: The Prince by Kiera Cass

I rate this book 2 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 14/06/14
My 21st book this year.)

Prince Maxon has a selection of 35 girls to choose from. Only one can become his wife, only one from the selection. All pre approved by the king who has carefully chosen the girls for various reasons ranging from beauty to riches and to better future business within the family.

This novella is written from Prince Maxon’s perspective. How he feels about the process, how he feels about his duties and how he feels about the huge choice ahead.

I couldn’t support Prince Maxon’s character. He was too insecure, too indecisive and too controlled by his parents. I can’t fall for a man who has no manly characteristics. A very unusual choice of character for a prince. I love the idea of the Selection. But with this novella as an introduction, I feel like the book would probably have a better chance just starting from book 1. I will probably read The Selection at some point. Right now, I just want to stay away because the Prince has deterred my intentions of trying out this series.

Hopefully the actual series is better. I definitely would not recommend this to other readers.

Written by Ling Lee (16/06/14).

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

