Book Review #60: Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 29/05/14
My 19th book this year)

Katy has just moved into a tiny town where everyone knows everyone. Her new neighbour’s are the Black family. Daemon is the eldest son of the family, green eyed, gorgeous but no one can be perfect. With the most arrogant attitude that destroys what should be a perfect man. His sister Dee is somehow desperately friendly. In a small town with minimal residents, Dee just wants a friend, and Katy happens to have moved in next door.

Daemon and Katy being within the same vicinity of one another equals trouble. Daemon’s split personality drives Katy crazy. When he’s good, he’s amazing, but when he’s bad, Katy wants to personally strangle him.

Spending much of her time with her new best friend, Dee, means she also finds out her secrets. Everyone has secrets but Dee and Daemon’s secret is so important, it is a matter of life and death.

The inevitable happens… Katy gets herself into danger, Daemon comes to the rescue, revealing his powers. But life was never meant to be simple, so now Katy has a trace on her and the only way to protect Daemon’s kind, means he must also protect Katy until the trace wears off.

I wish I could have rated this book higher. Considering this book was so highly rated, I found myself highly disappointed with the majority of the book. It felt like Armentrout had to keep telling the read how the characters feel and what they think. I.e Katy hates Daemon.

I love the idea of this story but I am barely holding on with the open mindedness. Aliens living on Earth. Totally bizarre… My first alien book that is written to fit in with today.

The last 25% of the book makes me glad I try my utmost hardest to finish what I start. I love the sizzle and fights between Katy and Daemon. I love the hot and cold, never knowing what side of Daemon to expect next. I felt the heat and felt myself smile when the should-be couple hide their smiles behind their attitudes. Feisty Katy is both a challenge and a threat for Daemon. But maybe Katy has proven her worth?

Written by Ling Lee (29/05/14).

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

