Book Review #58: Real by Katy Evans

I rated this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 07/05/14
My 17th book this year.)

Remington, the famous underground boxer. Every girl wants him. Known for his crazy knock outs, everyone in the fighting world knows him as Riptide.

In the midst of a fight he lays eyes on Brooke and is completely crazy about her. When he realises Brooke’s retreat from the ringside, he abruptly knocks out his opponent and chases her out of the arena. Very soon after obtaining her number, he offers her a job that she cannot refuse.

Struggling between taking her job seriously and fighting the urge to lay a claim on Remington, Brooke’s common sense is quickly clouded by the muscle’s, the dimples and everything Remington has to offer.

I’m not really sure what to make of this book. Almost every scene felt over exaggerated and very much repetitive and obsessive, from both Remington and Brooke. I very much wanted this book to grab hold of me and pull me into the dark that surrounds the underground scene. Almost every moment felt surreal but somehow I love the idea behind the story. The ending was a bit of a surprise, however I still can’t say that I’m desperate to start book 2.

Remington was too dark of a character. Too possessive and unbalanced for me to fall for. Brooke was quite annoying and definitely too obsessed with Remington’s physique. Every few chapters she had to remind us which body part she was daydreaming about.

I wouldn’t recommend this book, but I might still give book 2 a go sometime.

Written by Ling Lee (07/05/14).

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge, Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

