Book Review #56: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

I rate this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 21/04/14
My 15th book this year.)

Anna has reluctantly been sent to study in France. Knowing minimal French doesn’t help. Luckily her neighbouring room mate, Meredith, has a friend (St Clair) who speaks English.

Meredith has had a crush on St Clair since forever ago, but he has a girlfriend who has been with him for just as long.

Anna soon gets caught up with her life in France. But she sure misses the guy who was close to becoming her boyfriend before she left. Anna is very much looking forward to going home for the holidays until she finds her plans have changed and she ends up being the only person in her friendship group stuck in France.

St Clair is the heart throb of this book. Good looking with an amazingly gorgeous accent. Every girl has been captured by his charismatic personality. Somehow, during the same holiday, St Clair has now been forced to stay in France.

Now it’s just Anna and St Clair and the beautiful streets of Paris. Will all the theatres, lights and romance of the city pull them together or will their feelings for one another be kept secret til the end of time?

I really enjoyed this book. An easy read with much love, drama and misunderstandings. I managed to finish this in 2 sittings and am now a little lost for words. I hoped for a spectacular ending but I find myself wanting more. All the build up between Anna and St Clair made me feel cheated. I wanted more romance and more drama.

I would recommend this to the next girl who wants a love story. I’m quite certain this is a girls only book. Most of the book was immensely enjoyable so well done to Stephanie Perkins for keeping me entertained and for making me smile.

Written by Ling Lee (21/04/14).

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

