Book Review #55: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 10/04/14
My 14th book this year.)

Sky is an adopted child, who has a loving mother with a desperate dislike for anything regarding technology. After being homeschooled for most of her childhood, with the help of her best friend, she finally manages to persuade her mother to let her experience public school.

Somehow she manages to catch the attention of Holder, the boy with the worst reputation in school.

Their lives collide. Secrets unfold, pain unravels them, somewhere through all the drama, they cling to one another, but how long can they keep fighting one another’s problems?

I absolutely loved the first half of this book. I was completely consumed, turning page after page, I just didn’t want to put the book down. Holder is full of secrets and Sky is such a strong character. I love the tension and emotions that whirl around them. So much love and so much pain. I felt alive, my heart beat like mad for their relationship. I felt excited, alive, passionate about every stage of their relationship.

I finished it in 2 sittings. I wish I could have said the same for the 2nd half of the book. Towards the end, there is too much summarising, too much explaining and not enough of the intensity between Sky and Holder.

The ending was a bit over the top for me. I so badly wanted this to be a 5 star book, but it didn’t quite hit the mark for me. None the less, I would still recommend this book, purely for the first half.

Written by Ling Lee (10/04/14).

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

