Book Review #54: Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

I rate this book 3 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 03/04/14
My 13th book this year.)

I don’t really want to review this book. But as a reader, a writer and someone who has ideas to share, I guess I have no choice but to plough on.

Humbert Humbert’s life. His first sexual encounter leaving him with memories of his young teenage love. So this is the root of the story. Humbert spends the rest of forever finding another just like her. With childish features and a love for nymphets, he is careful to not have his secret revealed.

One day, by chance, he meets Lolita and he just knows that he can’t be with her, yet he can’t live without her.

We struggle through Humbert’s unstable mindset, alongside his unlawful hunger for only Lolita.

I can’t really say I enjoyed this book. But jumping in with a brief idea of what to expect, I brace myself and read on. Being open minded but much of the time my stomach was filled with a very unpleasant feeling as Humbert tells his story.

Yet this story was believable and the scenery was beautiful. It was amazon how the author managed to write this story without using any sexual words. But he described every formidable act just as clearly. It’s a very disturbing piece. I’m guessing a lot of people can’t bring themselves to read more than half the book.

I can’t say I would add this to my recommended reads but I didn’t exactly hate the book either.

I gave the book a 3 star rating mostly because of the clever words used to describe his way through the book. The scenery and storyline actually worked. But chunks of the book became a really tedious read.

Written by Ling Lee (03/04/14).

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

