Book Review #51: Unenchanted by Chanda Hahn

I rate this book 2 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 24/02/14
My 10th book this year.)

Mina Grime, accident prone, shy and has zero confidence in herself. Her best friend, Nan, is her only friend. That is until a school trip to a bakery leads to all kinds of drama.

Brody is the most popular boy in school. Obviously he is dating the cliche most popular girl at school. Something happens at the bakery, leaving Brody in a life or death situation and Mina, the most unexpected of all, comes to his rescue.

Brody happens to be the “out of her league” crush. But he finally notices her after she saves his life.

Spinning from a curse of the brothers Grimm fairy tales, Mina (Wilhelmina Grimm) has been chosen to complete every story and survive every bad situation to break the curse.

I wanted to love this book. I absolutely love Fairy Tales, almost as much as my love for Vampires. This book had so much potential. I was excited to start reading but very quickly changed my mind. I absolutely despised how Mina lived above a Chinese restaurant, with owner’s who supposedly speak bad English. Absolutely NOT necessary to make this book work.

I hated the ending, especially with what happens to Brody. Too abrupt, too harsh and it didn’t leave me wondering about book 2 or any of the future series of this book.

I was highly disappointed by Mina’s character. Her friendship with Nan feels like it could only work within the confines of this book. Such insecurity in a supposed heroine just makes this series feel over the top and most definitely unbelievable.

I’m sad to write this review because I love fairy tale retellings. I’ll stick with Alex Flinn for now.

Written by Ling Lee (24/02/14).

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

