Book Review #47: Pretties by Scott Westerfeld

I rate this book 3.5 out of 5 stars.

(Finished Reading: 26/01/14
My 6th book this year.)

Tally has volunteered to become a mindless pretty who spends all day just being happy and carefree. The Uglies have an untested cure that Tally has given consent to take, before she risked her memories, her personality and her whole way of living.

Being a Pretty is a whole new life. She meets Zane, the leader of the most popular Pretties group. Zane is different. Tally is drawn to Zane and together they experience Pretty life. Tricks are supposed to be for Uglies yet somehow Tally has always been a rule breaker, becoming Pretty doesn’t seem to have changed her that much after all.

The longer she stays Pretty, the more she becomes Pretty minded and empty headed.

Can the Uglies infiltrate and rescue Tally from losing all of herself and her past in time?

I’m really disappointed that I couldn’t enjoy this book as much as the first. I say couldn’t because ‘pretty’ language is off putting. The words ‘bogus’ and ‘totally’ must be in every sentence for almost the whole book. I understand why, but it still made the book difficult to read.

Once we venture outside of city walls, I felt the relief of being able to read normal words and I very much loved the last third of the book. I wish there was more to read about Tally being with Zane and spending time with David at the same time.

It was really obvious what would happen to Tally at the end due to the title of the 3rd book. But I still enjoyed fusing out how she ended up that way.

I still recommend this series and I highly recommend you force your way through the first chunk of the book because the latter half is really worth it.

Written by Ling Lee (27/01/14)

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

