Book Review #45: Breathing Underwater by Alex Flinn

I rate this book 4.5 out of 5 stars

(Finished Reading: 16/01/14
My 4th book this year.)

Nick, a rich and handsome 16yr old. He is in with the popular kids and has finally really seen a girl that he likes.

Caitlin, a former fat girl who has suddenly lost a lot of weight, now people notice her and want to get to know her.

Nick and Caitlin form a beautiful relationship that gradually changes as each of them try to deal with their dark pasts.

I enjoyed this book almost from cover to cover. I love how the book switches between journal entries of how things happened, and the classes that Nick has to attend to help deal with his anger and behaviour.

A very powerful book, with subtle changes in the teenagers’ relationship. I felt like I knew them both in real life and saw the story unfold before my very eyes.

I felt the sadness, I felt the tension. I loved every part of this book, except the very last chapter. But well done once again Alex Flinn for another amazing story. Very highly recommended. But be prepared to journey through the darkest moments of Nick’s life.

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

