Inner Demon: Story Extract

“A blinding pain sears through my temples, pounding away behind my eyeballs. Eyelids clamped tightly shut, bloodshot, tortured eyes, crying out for relief.

Alongside the agony I can feel a presence grow stronger. Another me, fighting to escape, full of anger, revenge and darkness. All the bad times I have endured, every wrong inflicted upon my life. There’s a being inside of me growing stronger by the day, bursting to erupt into the real world outside of my imagination. Waiting to release all the pent up frustration, the built up stress, fed up of being walked all over.

I can see the once secure restraints slowly unfold as the frenzied cackling grows louder. I hear screaming and laughter in one unified voice. A fistful of long black hair laying limp in my hand and a slight burning sensation at the back of my scalp.

Tears roll down my cheeks whilst my hatred burns out from within, finally getting a taste of the real world. Then I find my self control and force my dark self to withdraw back into the recesses of my mind. I’m not ready to be taken away just yet. But my days are numbered as every time I lose control, my inner demons grow stronger…”

Written by Ling Lee (12/07/13).

Self control can easily be broken when to many stresses and strains take its toll. The pain is real, the inner demon is real. I love the idea of having something contained within us that fights to escape. Of seeing yourself struggle to keep it from taking over your life. This piece could easily be developed as schizophrenic character, or just an emergence of a psychopath. Too many ideas and too little time to voice myself…

Thanks again for your time and support! As always, please leave your comments 🙂

Categories: Depression, Secrets, Story Extract, The Darkness, Writing Ideas | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Inner Demon: Story Extract

  1. Charlie

    This is brilliant, and once again something I can truly relate to. The daily battles people fight with themselves can be so hard to controll. XxX

    • Thank u for being such a great support for every single piece of my work! You make me plough on through every dark moment. After every dark piece, as soon as I see your comment I realise I have achieved what I set out to do.
      Thank you for giving me confidence 🙂 let us pull through the darkness together 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

