Growing Up Too Fast: Writing Extract

“I feel like I’ve skipped a huge chunk of my life and tried to grow up too much, too soon. At every milestone I stopped only for the briefest moment in time before rushing forward, blindfolded, head first.

I wish I could turn back time and give myself a moment more at every turn. I would have fought harder for my first love instead of accepting it as fate. I would have never let love destroy my very existence.

My passion for life faded like a burnt out candle. With a puff of smoke and a lingering fiery scent, that’s all the passion I have left to show. No more sparkle in my eyes, bounce in my step. Just a cautious eye for any change.

As a child I always wanted to grow up faster, now that I’m finally at this stage in life, I wish I could relive it all and amend my mistakes. But because life is never fair and never predictable I live on until the next good thing can bring a feeling of warmth through me once again…”

Written by Ling Lee (28/06/13).

At a dead end in life and I can’t work out how to turn around and get back on track again. This is still my journey and I am still the Lost Girl trying to find her way to her dreams.

Categories: Fiction, Random Thoughts, Story Extract, Writing Ideas | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Growing Up Too Fast: Writing Extract

  1. Don’t turn around at the dead end! Keep moving forward. Create another path for yourself. Find something you love.

    • Thank u Jess. It means the world to me when people take the time to read my work and stop to comment. Hope u continue to support me and keep commenting whether u like the pieces or not!
      How do u continue on a dead end though??

      • Plow forward and create a path through !? I’ve also been given the advice that “the writing will save you.” Keep writing. I try to keep up with everyone’s posts but fail miserably sometimes.

      • The writing definitely saves you! It’s therapeutic and rewarding to see people read and give their time to comment.
        I wish it was as easy as ploughing through a dead end.
        Writing and getting published is my dream so I guess no matter what my subject is, as long as people read it and enjoy it then I am a tiny step closer!
        Your comments and replies are very much appreciated ๐Ÿ™‚

      • ๐Ÿ™‚ Hang in there. Life’s all about the ups and downs. Makes us better writers. If I can help in any way, I’d be happy to.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

