Finally Broken: Story Extract

“My very last ounce of control has finally slipped out of reach. I welcome the tears and finally let go, stumbling against the wall. My back slides down the surface until I make contact with the floor, hugging my knees, howling into the sleeves of my clothes. All the frustration and raw pain hits me at full force knocking the wind right out of me.

I lost the fight, crumbling like the edges of a cliff being beaten by relentless waves. I’m not even angry anymore, just defeated. I wish I didn’t have to live in this shell of a body, for nothing for no one. It’s just not worth it anymore. I don’t know why I was brought into this world. I give and I give only to be used and cast aside. Even through my silent outburst nobody knows my pain.

Tomorrow they will see a smile etched upon my face. Nobody will really take notice and look into my puffy, lifeless eyes.

Curled up and broken I let the pain wash over me and lay on the bathroom floor until sunlight filters through the window…”

Written by Ling Lee (26/05/13).

Today is a new day. This character is distraught and has been dealt one too many hardships in life. Most days people just plod along through their sorrows but sometimes people break, some can never be fixed again.

Sorry for the dreary tones but I find these words jump out of me, bursting to be released. Don’t try to fight everything alone, it’s ok to ask for help.

Categories: Depression, Story Extract, The Darkness, Writing Ideas | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Finally Broken: Story Extract

  1. Charlie

    A very very powerful piece hunni. Its very true as well, that no one will understand it , until they live it. Keep going. XxX

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

