Blood Thirst: Story Extract

“What a dark night, without a single star to decorate this open canvas, only the moon shining proud and strong.

I instinctively sniff the air for my next meal of fresh human blood. Starved for days in a hope to kill my addiction but this feral need has taken control. The faint smell of warm iron flooding through a body, I hear her heart pump an erratic beat as her feet pounds the pavement, with every other beat, exhaling in bursts of breathlessness.

She is running for all the wrong reasons. She should be running away from me but her scent grows stronger with every step closer towards me, oblivious to danger. My face twitches as I fight to keep my canines from appearing. Sweat drips from the back of her ear, down her neck. I tilt my head back and close my eyes, taking a deep breath to calm my nerves. Realising my mistake as her scent travels through my nose up my nostrils, hitting me right in the gut as my canines painfully extend.

Razor sharp nails cut into my palms as I struggle to stop myself from rushing over and draining her life right before her very eyes. The pain in my hands not nearly enough to distract me from my hunger for her blood. I watch her with a predatory snarl, straining against my humanity. I don’t want to kill her but in my current state she doesn’t have a chance. I can almost feel the skin on her neck against my lips, taste the iron warmth trickle into my mouth. My throat is dry, very dry. My tongue darts across my teeth, desperate for a taste of her life.

Two and a half days, the longest I have managed without blood so far. Now I leave that thought behind as I slip through the shadows to quench both my thirst and hunger.

Her eyes wide in shock, gazing right at me, I don’t know why I’m looking at her. Guilt crushes me as I feel her beg me to stop through the gurgling blood in her throat. I hesitate for a second as her eyes call out a silent plea, my breath catches as I realise she is still alive. Her heart still beating a light pitter patter and her breathing is staggered. I slow to a stop as I cradle her limp body against my own. I lick her wounds closed. Her life floods through my veins as her eyes drift open and closed, with every blink I feel my strength return.

I realise this is the first time I have fed without killing. Now I pace frantically considering my options. I can’t erase her mind now that she has fallen unconscious in my arms, I can’t risk leaving her out in the street in case she wakes to remember me. I don’t want to kill her which leaves me two choices. Do I take her back to my house or hers? …”

Written by Ling Lee (14/05/13).

Exactly the kind of writing I’ve been waiting to write. My love for vampires grows with every book, every movie and every scene I can imagine in my thoughts. I hope this is something that you might want to read more of. Thank you all for reading 🙂 x

Categories: Fiction, Secrets, Story Extract, Things I love, Vampires, Writing Ideas | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Blood Thirst: Story Extract

  1. Charlie Cooper

    This is really gripping babe. I have a huge love of vampires & things Gothic. Keep going. You will achieve your dream one day. You are such a talented writer. XxXxX

    • Yay… I hope I did it! I’d love to write a vampire book but wanted it to be different to the rest so am working on it 🙂 It always depends on my mood before I can write. I need to place myself in the words. The feel, the smells… It’s a real other realm out there for me. I just have to find the right words for u to feel it too 🙂 thank you for your continued support hun! Your comments are much appreciated! Xx

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

