Drawn to Him: Story Extract

“I’m drawn to this brute of a man who emanates safety and protection. Just what I need if I could ever love again.

Some people have no sense of personal space. Like the brute I just referred to. He’s standing right in front of me. So close we’re almost touching. Staring up into his eyes, my breath catches and I’m afraid to exhale, conscious of the onion in the salad I just had for lunch.

What am I even thinking? He’s talking and I can’t seem to make sense of the words. He looks amused at my flustered response. I try really hard to focus on what he’s saying but all I can do is look at his expression. Amusement and mischief dance in his eyes as they crinkle at the corners whilst he awaits my response.

I’m not sure if he just made a joke or asked me where the men’s room is but I subconsciously choose to giggle. I stop midway mortified at myself. I rarely even laugh, I think I just dropped my dignity when his aura got close enough to invade mine.

My cheeks must be roasting hot and red as I drag my eyes to the floor and take a calming breath. I wish I didn’t now. I should’ve just stopped breathing when I had the chance. My nostrils flare with the musky sweet scent that surrounds him. I’m about to collapse into a heap as my legs fail to cooperate.

I’m not even sure if I opened my mouth to respond yet, but I hear his husky voice and throaty laugh. My eyes quickly dart left and right to check if he’s been talking to someone else. It seems I have his full attention.

Slipping a piece of paper into my hand, a spark of energy pulses up my arm from the brush of his skin on mine. What am I getting myself into? He saunters off out the door leaving my mouth open, speechless. I’m not even sure what just happened. Taking a look at the scrunched up piece of paper. He left me his number and an initial ‘K’.

Trouble written all over in invisible words float around me. I think I got caught and pulled into a new game. Maybe this time I won’t get hurt…”

Written by Ling Lee (23/03/13).

Usually when people get into my personal space, it’s unwanted attention from some sleazy old guy or something. I wonder how many people are lucky enough to meet someone who renders them speechless and breathless without even a touch. Oh the possibilities where this extract might lead. πŸ™‚

Categories: Secrets, Story Extract, Writing Ideas | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Drawn to Him: Story Extract

  1. Charlie

    What happens next, I need to know!! Your so talented with your writing. XxXX

    • πŸ˜› usually there hasn’t been a what’s next written yet πŸ˜› just exploring ideas and scenarios πŸ™‚ thanks for your continued support Hun!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

