Book Review #15: The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

I rate this book 4.5 out of 5 stars.

(Finished 06/03/13
My 14th book this year)

This was an amazing book and I found it hard to give it a 4 star yet it wasn’t quite 5 star.

Nastya is a girl who has been broken both mentally and physically. The only way she knows how to deal with her life is to hide behind an unpleasant display of herself and not talking to any other person. She shuts out her family so we take a journey with her on the path to revealing her story to us, one broken piece at a time.

Josh is the boy who is tainted by the deaths that surround him. Everyone in his family is dead or dying so he is both afraid of caring for others and others fear him.

Naturally the two broken souls somehow become acquainted and we learn how they help one another cope through their lives one day at a time.

I absolutely loved about 90% of this book. All I could think about was finding time to sit down and discover the mystery of Nastya and to know if these two damaged people ever recover.

Some of the scenes were a bit of a shock but they fit with the image of the girl that Nastya has become.

I’m not quite sure why, but for me, the ending was disappointing. I wanted something shocking at the end rather than something that rounds off the story.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone and it would be fun to discuss Nastya and Josh. I didn’t quite want this book to end because I wasn’t ready to let go of Josh.

Categories: Book Review, Reading Challenge | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

