Her Mind, Caught in a Memory: Story Extract

“Pain and frustration etched into the lines of her face. She stands immobilised with her mind caught in a memory, taking her to a different place to where she is staring.

A tear escapes the corner of her eye, down the side of her face. She doesn’t move an inch. I watch in agonised silence because no matter what I say or how I hold her, I cannot bring her mind to join us in the present moment.

I lean myself awkwardly against her still, standing form. I rest my cheek against her tear stained face, my tears mingle into hers, wishing I could take away the pain that I caused in her life.

No amount of regret will make things better for her. Now I live everyday in guilt as I watch her pained expressions with her mind caught in another time and a different place.

I should never have pushed her this far. Should have seen the struggles she endured, long before she lost her mind. I should have been the one to make her happy but instead my mistake has crushed us. Now, every day I wish I could turn back time, undo my wrongs, go back to before the day she caught me betray her.

Today, I stay by her side. I realise what’s important in my life and I hope she will one day forgive me and free me of my never ending regret for the pain that I’ve caused. But for now I live the results I have created, say a silent prayer, and thank the stars that today has been one of her good days…”

Written by Ling Lee (23/02/13).

Late into the night, I take one step back and feel like my life is heading in the wrong direction. It’s sad but it happens to each and every one of us.

But I remind myself, my dreams are still within reach. I can still create my new tomorrow if only I take a chance and take the other path…

I’ll leave off here. Exhaustion is claiming me as my eyes burn from tiredness. This night is exceptionally cold, I hope this feeling of illness washes over me once I get some much needed sleep. To a better tomorrow!

Categories: Depression, Story Extract, The Darkness, Writing Ideas | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Her Mind, Caught in a Memory: Story Extract

  1. Charlie Cooper

    Babe you can do loads of mini stories or combine all you have done into one. I cant wait to read the next one. ā¤ XxX

    • Hey hun. I’m not sure many people like to read mini stories too much unless it is erotica based. Too much of my work and dark amd miserable so a whole mini collection of it might be a bit too much šŸ˜¦ ?? But I’ll keep that in mind šŸ™‚ thanks again charlie!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

