Losing Control: Story Extract

“Struggling to battle through to the end of the day. Anger bursting from every pore on my body. I’m crushed that I’m no longer in control. Tears threaten to drown me as they flood down my face, mingling with the scalding hot water that’s spraying above my head. I’m trying to take slow, deep breaths whilst I count from 1 to 10 then back down to 1 again but nothing seems to help. I can feel the hot water beating down on my shoulders and my back, stinging from the heat, leaving my skin a nice tinge of pink. No amount of physical pain can draw my attention away from my excuse of a life.

Yet again the kids are fighting, one is whining whilst the other whinges. Moments like these make me wonder why I ever had kids. My fingers curl tight into my hair as I yank hard and wince. I don’t know how to cope anymore, there’s no escape. I just want to scream and cry and lash out until there’s no energy left inside of me. Then I can curl up and drift away into my world of dreams where all my problems are exchanged for the warmth and protection of a wonderful man. A promise to take care of me and to make me smile. A lie I choose to believe, just to help pull me through just one more day of my sorry existence…”

Written by Ling Lee (13/02/13).

My story has brought me to another dark moment. The pent up frustration of all work and no play is starting to take it’s toll.

Just remember that all my work is fictional and hopefully all building up to an epic novel. I guess it will be a novel full of darkness and violence.

People always think the “grass is greener on the other side”, but I’m guessing there’s just as much sh*t there too.

Just remember that just because you see someone smiling on the outside, it doesn’t neccesarily mean they are happy. Their lives could be falling to pieces right before them and there’s no one around to save them.

Categories: Depression, Random Thoughts, Story Extract, The Darkness, Writing Ideas | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Losing Control: Story Extract

  1. Charlie Cooper

    This is really powerful Ling, & is defiantly something I can relate to in my darker moments, which unfortunately happen more often than not. Keep going babe you have an amazing talent. XxXx

    • Thx hun. It’s not nice but it happens to the best of us. Guess real life is never as fun as being a character in the books that we choose. But at least there’s somewhere to escape to for a while 🙂 thanks for your continued support and time in reading my work hun!! X

  2. Reading for me is always a great escape. I think we all feel like this sometimes when the going gets tough or stress becomes an unbearable weight.

    • Don’t know how I’d survive without reading books and my writing. Thank u for keeping up with my work youngemt. I’m hoping to get a piece out for valentine’s day but that REALLY depends on when I get my quiet time!!

      If anyone reading would like to make suggestions or leave comments whether good or bad I would be most grateful 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

