My Favourite Books: What’s yours?

Here’s a quick list of my favourites with summaries to follow soon:

(I started writing summaries but then I realised my post was getting rather long so I may have to do individual blogs for each of my all time favourites. Just my list of favourites could get a bit long winded.)

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See: This book is based on olden day China when foot binding was still in fashion. The torturous ritual is described in much detail and the book explores how women grew stronger and became heard amongst the men. A beautifully written novel.

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
A story about the struggles in life where a poor girl is sold into the Geisha world. Learning how to serve and entertain men, how to be beautiful, talented and the importance of the Tea Ceremony resemblance in Japan. This book follows Satsu through her entire life, telling her story on her career where she has many rivals who strive to be number 1. Her fight to be the best that she can be is told in a very emotional story.

Otori Trilogy by Lian Hearn (Across the nightingale floor book 1)
A series based on Feudal Japan and Samurai clans. This book follows Takeo, a man on his quest to avenge his father. Takeo is taken in by a clan lord who trains him to be a warrior and helps him fulfill his dream. Takeo climbs the ranks meeting love and loss on his journey. One of my very favourite series. Worth re-reading, very highly recommended!

Hunger Games Trilogy
I got through this series amazingly quickly. Please read the book and don’t watch the movie!

Fifty Shades Trilogy by EL James
A very steamy series, with lots of sex and Bondage. Recommended as bedtime reading and probably best to read alone. Christian Grey, such a wonderful character. It’s nice to see the change in him brought on by innocent Anastasia. How a broken man can be fixed by love.

Shopaholic Series by Sophie Kinsella
Not my usual choice but very glad I picked these up. Being not much of a shopper, I was extremely surprised that I enjoyed this series. All about designer clothes and accessories. How a normal girl is completely and utterly obsessed with shopping. A fun and easy to read series. Recommended as Summer reading.

Twilight Series by Stephanie Meyer
My love for Vampires makes me automatically biased toward these books. Well done Stephanie Meyer for having her own idea on why vampires hate sunlight. This series is about Bella the human, Edward the Vampire and Jacob the werewolf. What a combination! Vampires and werewolves hate one another but they must tolerate one another for the sake of a human that they both love. High school is so much more interesting as a Vampire!

Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr
Faeries… Not all lovely, small and nice! I love Melissa Marr’s imagination. You have summer faeries, winter faeries, dark faeries all with their own queens and kings. Strengths and weaknesses depending on the time of year. In my mind, everything sprung to life. Even in my mid 20’s this series was a nice find! Recommended for anyone with an open mind.

P.S I Love You by Cecelia Ahern
A real tear jerker. One message every month, for a year after he died. To help his loved one learn to carry on living without him. Every girl must read this one! (Hope that didn’t sound too sexist!)

Magician’s Guild by Trudi Canavan
Magic! I can’t decide if I enjoy magic or vampire books more!

Time Traveller’s Wife

Heidi

Harry Potter Series

Well I’ve shared a few of mine so here’s a question for you:

What’s your favourite book(s) of all time?

Looking forward to your recommendations šŸ™‚

Categories: Books, Secrets, Things I love | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Books: What’s yours?

  1. jennifernon

    Some of the books you listed are favourites of mine as well (Snow Flower & the Secret Fan, Memoirs of a Geisha, Hunger Games, Time Traveller’s Wife, Harry Potter, PS I Love You, Magician’s Guild). I’d have to disagree with the Fifty Shades one though, but let’s agree to disagree on that. šŸ™‚ The Otori Trilogy sounds interesting, I’ll have to check that out!

  2. I love the Harry Potter series too! And I’m planning to read the Hunger Games trilogy next year šŸ™‚ Oliver Twist is my favourite book!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

